Tested for 46 days · July-August 2026

ElevenLabs Pricing 2026: What You Actually Pay Per Minute

Credit math, real cost per minute, and where five review platforms disagree.

Summary

ElevenLabs pricing runs Free through Business, but the sticker prices hide the real number: cost per finished minute of narration. On our conversion (1 credit per character, 850 characters per spoken minute) Creator lands near $0.16 per minute and Pro near $0.14. G2 reviewers rate the product 4.5 out of 5 across 1,140 reviews; Trustpilot sits at 3.0 from 1,118, almost entirely on billing complaints, not audio quality.

7.8 /10

ElevenLabs' published pricing (Free, Starter $6, Creator $22, Pro $99, Scale $299, Business $990) looks straightforward until you convert credits into minutes of narration. At 850 characters per spoken minute, Creator costs roughly $0.16 per finished minute and Pro roughly $0.14. The audio quality earns a 4.5/5 across 1,140 G2 reviews. The credit system itself is what drags Trustpilot down to 3.0/5 across 1,118 reviews.

Voice quality
8.6/10
Pricing transparency
5.4/10
API / integration
8.8/10
  • Narration stays stable past 30 minutes without a re-clone or drift correction
  • 44.1kHz PCM output on Pro is production-grade, no upsample pass needed
  • 8,000+ app ecosystem cuts real integration time on Unity and dubbing pipelines
  • Credit-to-minute conversion is not disclosed anywhere on the pricing page
  • Unused credits are forfeited entirely on a mid-cycle downgrade

Free tier available, no card required to start

Methodology

How we tested

Tested for
46 days
Plan paid
Creator ($22/mo) and Pro ($99/mo), run in parallel
Version tested
ElevenLabs web app + API, August 2026 build
Prompts run
12
Test period
2026-07-10 → 2026-08-24
Test categories: Audiobook narration • Game NPC dialogue • Podcast intro reads • API latency • Multi-platform review aggregation

We ran two ElevenLabs accounts in parallel for 46 days (July 10 to August 24, 2026): a Creator plan ($22/mo, 121,000 credits) and a Pro plan ($99/mo, 600,000 credits). Every session logged the character count sent and the credits deducted, confirming ElevenLabs' documented 1 credit per character rate for text-to-speech and 330 credits per minute for speech-to-text. We narrated 12 scripts across three categories, audiobook chapters (6, averaging 1,800 words each), game NPC dialogue batches (4, 40-90 lines each), and podcast intro reads (2), then divided the credits spent by the minutes of finished audio to get a real cost-per-minute instead of a marketing estimate. We also timed 30 API calls on the Pro plan for the latency numbers below, and pulled the review aggregates from G2, Trustpilot, Capterra, Product Hunt, and TrustRadius directly on August 24, 2026.

Should you buy this?

YES if you...

  • You publish 3+ hours of narration a month and want a name your enterprise client already trusts
  • Your project needs stable output past the 30-minute mark without a re-clone or drift correction
  • You're already building on the API side and the 8,000-app ecosystem's docs and SDKs save you time
  • You need Sound Effects generation bundled with TTS instead of a third tool

NO if you...

  • You produce under 2 hours of audio a month; the Free or Starter tier ceiling arrives fast
  • Per-minute cost is the deciding factor; Fish Audio and other price leaders run cheaper on raw API usage
  • You need transparent, real-time credit usage visibility; Trustpilot's 3.0/5 is driven almost entirely by billing opacity complaints
  • You downgrade plans often; unused credits do not carry over and are forfeited on a downgrade

ElevenLabs pricing, all six tiers

Free

$0 /mo

Evaluation only, no commercial license

  • 10,000 credits/month (about 11.8 min of narration on our conversion)
  • Text to Speech, Speech to Text, Sound Effects
  • 3 Studio projects
  • No commercial license

Starter

$6 /mo

First commercial tier

  • 30,000 credits/month (about 35 min of narration)
  • Commercial license
  • Instant Voice Cloning
  • 20 Studio projects
  • Dubbing Studio

Pro

$99 /mo

For agencies and daily production

  • 600,000 credits/month (about 706 min, ~11.8h of narration)
  • 44.1kHz PCM audio output via API
  • 192kbps output quality
  • Everything in Creator

Scale

$299 /mo

Multi-seat teams

  • 1.8M credits/month (about 35.3h of narration)
  • 3 seats included
  • 3 Professional Voice Clones
  • Team collaboration

Business

$990 /mo

Product-embedded voice at volume

  • 6M credits/month (about 117.6h of narration)
  • 10 seats, 10 Professional Voice Clones
  • Low-latency TTS around $0.05/minute
  • Priority support

ROI breakdown: At our measured 850 characters per narrated minute, Creator works out to about $0.16 per finished minute and Pro to about $0.14. Compare that to Resemble AI's flat $0.006/second ($0.36/min) on its Creator plan: ElevenLabs is the cheaper narration engine per minute even before you factor in the free-first-month discount.

Hidden costs & gotchas
  • Unused credits do not roll over and are forfeited entirely if you downgrade mid-cycle
  • Professional Voice Cloning requires Creator ($22/mo) or above, not Starter
  • Low-latency conversational TTS on Business is billed separately at roughly $0.05/minute
  • Annual billing saves about 17% (2 months free) but locks you in for 12 months

ElevenLabs across five review platforms (compiled August 24, 2026)

Independently compiled from public review pages, not a live embed.

4.5G2 · 1,140 reviews
3.0Trustpilot · 1,118 reviews
4.7Capterra · 18 reviews
4.6Product Hunt · ~28 reviews
8.9TrustRadius · /10
Testing

What we measured

Creator plan cost per narrated minute
0.16 USD/min 121,000 credits / 850 chars-per-min, our 46-day test
Pro plan cost per narrated minute
0.14 USD/min 600,000 credits / 850 chars-per-min
Free tier ceiling
11.8 minutes/month 10,000 credits before the wall
Avg. API latency, Pro plan
1.8 s to first audio byte p50 across 30 calls, 44.1kHz PCM
Speech-to-text credit cost
330 credits/min official ElevenLabs conversion, confirmed in testing
Annual billing discount
17 % (2 months free) vs. monthly billing on the same tier
What do you actually unlock going from Starter ($6) to Creator ($22)?
The jump buys Professional Voice Cloning and roughly 4x the credits (30,000 to 121,000), which is the real reason most narration accounts skip Starter entirely and start on Creator.
ElevenLabs pricing page comparing Free, Starter, Creator and Pro tiers
How is the text-to-speech interface laid out for a narration session?
The TTS workspace groups voice selection, stability and similarity sliders, and export format on one screen. We logged character counts here to reconcile against the credit deduction shown in account settings.
ElevenLabs text-to-speech product interface

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Narration stays stable past 30 minutes without a re-clone Across our 6 audiobook chapters (1,800 words average), none needed a mid-chapter voice reset, the failure mode we hit repeatedly on cheaper clone tools.
  • 44.1kHz PCM output on Pro is genuinely production-grade Fed directly into a DAW without an upsample pass, unlike the 22kHz output common on entry-tier competitors.
  • 8,000+ app ecosystem means fewer integration surprises Unity, HeyGen, and most dubbing pipelines already ship an ElevenLabs connector, which shaved real setup time off our NPC dialogue batch.

Cons

  • Credit-to-minute math is not disclosed anywhere on the pricing page We had to derive the 850-chars-per-minute conversion ourselves; ElevenLabs states 1 credit per character but never states an expected minutes-per-tier figure.
  • Unused credits are forfeited entirely on a mid-cycle downgrade Confirmed against ElevenLabs' own billing documentation and echoed in nearly every low-score Trustpilot review we read.
  • Per-minute cost loses to Fish Audio and other 2026 price challengers on raw API volume ElevenLabs still wins the enterprise-trust argument, but a team optimizing purely for cost per character has cheaper options.
Verdict

Final verdict

7.8 /10

ElevenLabs earns its price on stability and brand trust, not on being the cheapest way to turn text into audio. At roughly $0.14 to $0.16 per finished minute on the Creator and Pro tiers, it undercuts Resemble AI's per-second pricing while still being the name enterprise buyers already recognize, which matters when you are pitching a client on why the narration budget went up.

The catch is entirely on the billing side. A 3.0/5 on Trustpilot against a 4.5/5 on G2 is not a product-quality gap, it is a transparency gap: credit usage is hard to forecast, and downgrading mid-cycle forfeits whatever you have not spent. If you run a studio that publishes 3+ hours a month and needs the ecosystem and stability, Creator or Pro earns its keep. If your volume is under 2 hours a month, the Free or Starter ceiling arrives faster than the marketing implies, and a flat-rate competitor may forecast better.

Voice qualityPricing transparencyAPI / integrationSupport responsivenessValue at Creator/Pro tier
  • Voice quality 8.6/10 Stable past 30 min, no drift in our audiobook batch
  • Pricing transparency 5.4/10 Credit-to-minute math undisclosed, forfeited on downgrade
  • API / integration 8.8/10 8,000+ app ecosystem, 1.8s p50 latency
  • Support responsiveness 6.5/10 Praised on Trustpilot, criticized on Product Hunt for Pro-tier gaps
  • Value at Creator/Pro tier 7.4/10 ~$0.14-0.16/min beats Resemble AI per-minute

Questions we got asked while testing

How many minutes of audio does 121,000 ElevenLabs credits actually get you?
On our measured conversion of 850 characters per narrated minute, 121,000 credits (the Creator plan) covers about 142 minutes, roughly 2 hours 22 minutes, of finished narration per month.
Do ElevenLabs credits roll over if I do not use them?
No. Unused credits do not carry over month to month, and if you downgrade plans mid-cycle you forfeit whatever is left, a point confirmed in ElevenLabs' own billing docs and echoed across low-score Trustpilot reviews.
Is ElevenLabs cheaper than Resemble AI per minute?
Yes, on our numbers. ElevenLabs' Creator and Pro tiers work out to roughly $0.14-0.16 per finished minute, versus Resemble AI's flat $0.006/second (about $0.36/min) on its Creator plan.
What plan do I need for Professional Voice Cloning?
Creator ($22/mo) or above. Starter ($6/mo) only includes Instant Voice Cloning, a lower-fidelity clone meant for quick prototyping, not production narration.
Why is ElevenLabs' Trustpilot score so much lower than its G2 score?
G2's 4.5/5 (1,140 reviews) skews toward the audio output itself. Trustpilot's 3.0/5 (1,118 reviews) is driven almost entirely by billing and credit-transparency complaints, not narration quality.
Does the annual plan actually save money?
Yes, about 17%, equivalent to two free months, but it locks you into the tier for 12 months with no monthly downgrade path at the discounted rate.
What happens on the Free plan once I hit 10,000 credits?
Generation stops until the next monthly reset (or you upgrade). On our conversion that ceiling is about 11.8 minutes of narration, which most active projects hit inside the first week.

Update log

  1. Initial publication after a 46-day paid Creator + Pro test and a five-platform review audit.